TDPS Leadership

Professor Joe Goode

Joe Goode

Department Chair, Professor

The Chair oversees the department's teaching, curriculum, research, and public programming. The Chair is responsible for the recruitment, selection, and evaluation of faculty and staff personnel; making teaching assignments; preparing budgets and administering the financial affairs of the department; and maintaining a climate that is hospitable to creativity, diversity, and innovation.

Professor Philip Kan Gotanda

Philip Kan Gotanda

Department Vice Chair, Professor

The Vice Chair is responsible for providing leadership in the areas of public programming and production, ensuring these realize our curricular goals and fulfill our departmental mission of critical inquiry, creative expression, and public engagement. The Vice Chair also assists the Department Chair in fulfilling a range of department duties.

Professor SanSan Kwan

SanSan Kwan

Head Graduate Advisor, Associate Professor

The Head Graduate Advisor (HGA) chairs the Graduate Executive Committee and is the Department’s officially designated faculty liaison for the Ph.D. Program in Performance Studies. With the committee, the HGA oversees all matters concerning graduate admissions, program requirements and policy, and student progress.

Jean-Paul Gressieux, Department Manager

Jean-Paul Gressieux

Department Manager (MSO)

The Department Manager reports directly to the Department Chair and is responsible for full general operation of Department of Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies. Administrative oversight includes finance, human resources, IT, facilities, and student services.