Guest Artists & Scholars

Guest artists and scholars share insights into their current work and research, provide guidance on current industry practices, and connect students with professional opportunities.

In 2018–2019 academic year, TDPS welcomed more than 30 guest artists and scholars in our classrooms, studios, and labs. Many of these visits were supported by the Shelly Osborne Guest Artist Fund. We are extremely grateful for this ongoing support that enables us to introduce students to a wide variety of professionals in performing arts and performance studies.

If you are interested in supporting guest artists and scholars, please contact Prof. Lisa Wymore, Department Chair, at

Recent/Upcoming Guests

Philip Agyapong — Sep. 2019

Philip Amo Agyapong is a Dance teacher and researcher from Ghana and currently living in California. He holds a B.F.A. in Dance and Theatre Arts and a M.F.A. in Dance from the University of Ghana. After his graduate studies, Philip served as an Assistant Lecturer in the same University for two years. During his position as faculty in the University of Ghana, he produced dance works such as "Su-Ban," "Akogo," and "Ritual" from his research scope "Dance and Ethics in Ghanaian Traditional Society."

José Francisco Barroso — Oct. 2019

Born in Havana, José Francisco Barroso studied from a very young age the popular Cuban styles: son, casino, rueda, and rumba. Barroso describes these art forms as an expression of everyday life in Cuba and as a symbol of the vibrancy of the Cuban people. Additionally, he was recognized throughout Havana for his skills in hip-hop and break dance, and studied with Cuba’s Compania Folklorica Raices Profundas.

Gerald Casel — Nov. 2019

Gerald Casel is a San Francisco-based dance artist and director of GERALD CASEL DANCE. A graduate of The Juilliard School, he holds an M.F.A. from UW-Milwaukee. Casel is an Associate Professor and Associate Chair of Theater Arts at UC Santa Cruz. Casel's choreographic research and social practice complicates and provokes questions surrounding colonialism, collective cultural amnesia, whiteness and privilege, and the tensions between the invisible/perceived/obvious structures of power.

Miguel Gutierrez — Nov. 2019

Miguel Gutierrez is a choreographer, composer, performer, singer, writer, educator and advocate who has lived in New York for over twenty years. He is fascinated by the time-based nature of performance and how it creates an ideal frame for phenomenological questions around presence and meaning-making. His work proposes an immersive state, for performer and audience alike, where attention itself becomes an elastic material. He believes in an approach to art making that is fierce, fragile, empathetic, political, and irreverent.

Miguel Gutierrez, choreographer, composer, performer
Image credit: 
Ian Douglas
Rosangela Silvestre, Afro-Brazilian Dance Teacher